HALO Wissenschaftlicher Lenkungsauschuss (WLA)

The Scientific Steering Committee (Wissenschaftlicher Lenkungsauschuss, WLA) of HALO is appointed by the Kuratorium. It coordinates the joint research activities of the consortium partners in the fields of atmospheric research, Earth observation and geophysics and is responsible for optimizing the scientific utilisation of HALO. The WLA evaluates and prioritises proposals for scientific missions on HALO. It decides about the yearly utilisation schedule of HALO. The WLA meets at least two times per year or more frequently

Current members of the WLA

At present the HALO scientific steering committee (Wissenschaftlicher Lenkungsausschuss, WLA) comprises nine members:

  • Markus RappVorsitzender des WLA (chairman)
    DLR, Institut für Physik der Atmosphäre
  • Manfred Wendischstellvertretender Vorsitzender (vice chairman)
    DFG / Univ. Leipzig, Leipziger Institut für Meteorologie
  • John Burrows
    DFG / Univ. Bremen, Institut für Umweltphysik
  • Joachim Curtius
    DFG / Univ. Frankfurt, Institut für Atmosphäre und Umwelt
  • Markus Hermann
    TROPOS, Leipzig
  • Johannes Orphal
    KIT, Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung – Atmosphärische Spurengase und Fernerkundung, IMK-ASF, Karlsruhe
  • Martin Riese
    FZJ, Institut für Energie- und Klimaforschung, Stratosphäre, IEK-7, Jülich
  • Bjorn Stevens
    MPG, Max-Planck-Institut für Meteorologie, Hamburg